Aerospace Physiology Society

A constituent organization of the Aerospace Medical Association


Hancock Bert 2019.jpg


2019: Dr. Peter Hancock. Dr. Hancock made seminal and influential contributions concerning the effects of thermal environmental conditions on the capacity for cognitive work. For the elucidation of the manner in which such cognitive effects are directly linked to thermo-physiological regulatory systems and their own functional limitations. For application of this understanding to pilots, astronauts and other exposed military personnel. For linking these physiological insights to the specification of operator physical and cognitive workload in diverse operational environments.

Previous Award Winners

1994 Fred Buick

1995 David A. Self

1996 A.R.J. Prior

1997 Donald A. Diesel

1998 Tamara L. Chelette

1999 David Cohen

2000 Robert B. O’Connor

2001 Timothy J. Byrne

2002 Paul Fisher

2003 James T. Webb

2004 William Albery

2005 Edward Eveland

2006 Brian P. Self

2007 Lloyd Tripp

2008 Merrill Rice

2009 Anthony Artino

2010 Lance Annicelli

2011 Tyson Brunstetter

2012 David Welge

2013 Not Awarded

2014 Maggi Coppini

2015 Brian Musselman

2016 Rich Folga

2017 Thomas Massa

2018 Nereyda Sevilla

1969 Richard W. Bancroft

1970 Fred A. Hitchcock

1971 Louis J. Santa Maria

1972 Alice M. Stoll

1973 Edwin P. Hendler

1974 Harold L. Bitter

1975 Russell R. Burton

1976 Sidney D. Leverett, Jr.

1977 Charles W. Winget

1978 Julian P. Cooke

1979 Paul J. Sheffield

1980 Douglas W. Call

1981 Robert M. Olsen

1982 Robert M. Shaffstall

1983 James H. Veghte

1984 Carolyn L. Huntoon

1985 Wilbur T. Workman

1986 John W. Burns

1987 Arthur H. Smith

1988 Mark I. Darrah

1989 John W. Frazier

1990 Thomas R. Morgan

1991 Guy R. Banta

1992 Robert W. Krutz. Jr.

1993 Ulf I. Balldin