top of page


image-asset (1)_edited.png

The Council of the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA), acting upon recommendations of the Aerospace Physiology Certification Board, grants certification in aerospace physiology.


In 1977 the Aerospace Medical Association first offered board certification in Aerospace Physiology. The objectives of the certification program are:


1) To encourage the study, improve the practice, and elevate the standards of excellence in Aerospace Physiology.


2) To provide an avenue for professional and peer recognition.


3) To serve as a goal which members can strive to attain through dedication, self study, and personal contributions to the Aerospace Medical association and the Aerospace Physiology Society.


The original Certification Board members (through Honorary Certification) are: Smith W. Ames, Bruce E. Bassett, Richard W. Bancroft, Edwin P. Hyatt, Sidney D. Leverett, Charles F. Lombard, Martin M. Passaglia, Donald H. Reid, and Richard B. Trumbo. Formal Board Certification provides an avenue for professional and peer recognition in aerospace medicine, and is a worthy goal for members to attain.

The certification examination is offered at the Annual Scientific Meeting of the Aerospace Medical Association in May of each year. Board certification is for professionals with an abiding interest and demonstrated productivity in the field of aerospace physiology.  Applicants must possess, as a minimum, a baccalaureate degree either in physiology or a closely related science.  A history of significant contributions to aerospace physiology is also required.


Applicants should have 5 years of active professional experience in an aeromedical field.  The 5-hour exam contains questions covering various areas relevant to aerospace physiology, including, but not limited to, general human physiology, acceleration physiology, decompression physiology, impact, hypoxia, vibration and noise, applied operational aspects, space physiology, and spatial orientation.

bottom of page